‘OJ’ Careers & Jobs (#6 ; 13th April 2012)

Hi,

I hope you all had a great Easter weekend wherever you are/were in the world. I have given up trying to write this blog weekly, every Friday. But I hope you’ll accept “almost every Friday” as good enough. Unless of course someone out there wishes to sponsor the blog?? Then, of course, it will get done…. 🙂

Now two months in, we are well over 2,100 members on our Linkedin Group called “Careers & Jobs (Open) CRE & Facilities Management”. Adding around 100 people a week, after the initial fast start. The link is here: http://www.linkedin.com/groups?about=&gid=4269106 . You can read more on the first week’s blog: http://alturl.com/qmsso

Recruiters & Head-hunters

This group is independent, under the ‘OJ’ http://occupiersjournal.com. Do sign up on the website to receive our Newsletter and occasional papers. We hope that any and all recruitment and head-hunting firms will use the group, and post vacancies to the ‘Jobs’ section. Many of you have, so thankyou for that. Anyone is welcome, and feel free to ‘advertise’ yourselves on the “Discussions” section.

These people posted Jobs discussions this week (I will expand this list over the next few weeks, into a global list of recruiters, and save it on my shared ‘Box’ folder: https://www.box.net/shared/bxrprfdfr7 ). For now, here are this week’s new recruiters (new to us anyway) in the order in which they posted. The full list is at the END.

Coleen Cloherty, http://www.linkedin.com/pub/coleen-cloherty/1/89b/20 London , UK

Richard Whitfield, http://www.linkedin.com/in/richardwhitfieldinterserve , Warwickshire, UK

Elinore Minskey, http://www.linkedin.com/pub/elinore-minskey/4b/517/739 , Tennessee, USA

Alex Morris, http://www.linkedin.com/in/mralexmorris , Godalming, Surrey, UK

Michael Herman, http://www.linkedin.com/in/mikeherman123 , Washington DC, USA

Featured Recruiter this week

I have been adding a “top recruiter” in past weeks, on the basis of who posts the most jobs to the Linkedin group. But, as it keeps going to Rebecca Worley, and would AGAIN!, I have had to change tack….sorry Rebecca, but keep ‘em coming. Closely followed by Nikki Dallas of @TalentFM ; yes we’re all on Twitter these days, aren’t we?

Twitter is a great resource, especially if you are job hunting. Look up the links below on Linkedin, and most recruiters also have their twitter name on their profile. Even if you only follow them, and nobody else, you will at least stay ahead of the jobs available, and get the chance to get your CV in early!

This week I’ll give a special mention to Alex Morris, Global Sales Director at Berry Technical (UK), which now includes Cerebra. Alex founded Cerebra, which last year was merged into Berry Technical. He has been in recruitment in the Building Services/FM sector for many years, across Europe:

 Alex has been recruiting Senior level FM positions internationally for the last 16 years. Currently working for many blue chip companies globally. Experience in recruiting FM – Facility Director/ Board level positions

Top jobs this week (around the globe!)

If you go to the Linkedin group and click on Jobs you will see there are 33 jobs shared to the group, and 17 job discussions. There are more jobs if you click on Linkedin’s Jobs Home. But lets look at those on our ‘OJ’ group….

There are CRE & FM management roles posted in London, Prague, Brunei, Ohio (USA), Bangalore, Alabama (USA), Sao Paulo, California (USA), Cambridge (UK), Toronto….and more!

Unisys are looking for an APAC Director – Real Estate & Facilities in Sydney. I’d have to pick that as the top job this week! Living in Sydney, travelling across APAC, and working for a global information technology company.

Last week I said “hopefully we will go wider still in month 3…? India maybe….”, and of course we have. There is a Manager – Real Estate & Workplace required for vmware in Bangalore.

Johnson Controls are recruiting for many UK roles, but I noticed with interest their opportunity in Sao Paulo. As with India, covered last week, Latin America is seeing a growing need for CRE & FM management roles.

Top Discussions:

We had some interesting ‘Discussions’ (see the Discussions tab) over the last two weeks. I don’t have time to cover them all, but here is one: http://lnkd.in/PM9XPh; what I picked up here is that internal referrals are key! So get connected to people on Linkedin, and they may refer you to their HR department – remembering of course that many companies give staff a bonus for introductions, so don’t be shy! You may be doing each other a favour….

Working @

I have not had time to write another “Working@” this week, but will do as we had great feedback on the last one by Simon Beck, on “A Facilities Manager’s Life in Angola”: http://paulcarder.com/2012/03/09/a-facilities-managers-life-in-angola-southern-africa-by-simon-beck/ .

If you would like to write a similar article, for Working @ your company, drop me a line at the email below. Thanks.

That’s all folks for this week, but subscribe to this blog and receive the update every Friday….

Have a great weekend, and if you are job-hunting, good luck,

Paul Carder (paul.carder@occupiersjournal.com)

Twitter @occupiers and @paulcarder

RECRUITERS (alphabetically)

Simon Aspinall: http://www.linkedin.com/in/simonaspinallcatch22 , Leeds, UK

Melissa Baxter http://www.linkedin.com/pub/melissa-baxter/18/555/b64 London, UK

Meghan Blankenship http://www.linkedin.com/pub/meghan-blankenship/5/9a5/634 Austin, TX, USA

John Bruno: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/john-bruno/16/402/7a6 , LA, CA, United States

Douglas Carrick: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/douglas-carrick/41/886/630 , London, UK

Jo Caughey: http://www.linkedin.com/in/jcaughey , Birmingham, UK

Jaime Cheng: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jaime-cheng/38/568/230 , Hong Kong

Nikki Dallas: http://www.linkedin.com/in/nikkidallas , London, UK

Bob DiSanto, Detroit, US

Kristin Erdmann: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kristinerdmann4hr , Minneapolis, USA

Brittany Finnell: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/brittany-finnell/8/602/643 , Dallas, TX, United States

Peter Forshaw, http://www.linkedin.com/in/peterforshaw , UK

Ben Gregg: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/ben-gregg-0415919590/6/782/a11 , Sydney, Australia

Simon Knowles: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/simon-knowles/1/bb6/a8 , Exeter, UK

John Kreis: http://www.linkedin.com/in/johnkreiss , Boston, MA, United States

Gareth Longley, http://www.linkedin.com/in/garethlongley , Manchester, UK

Natasha Luthra, http://www.linkedin.com/pub/natasha-luthra/35/67/a7b , Bengaluru, India

Chris Manning: http://www.linkedin.com/in/cjmanning , London, UK

Claire Marchant http://www.linkedin.com/in/clairemarchant Manchester, UK

Keely Marlin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/keelymarlin , Denver, CO, United States

Rick Morales http://www.linkedin.com/in/rickmoraleshrexpert New York, NY, USA

Merrick Morris http://www.linkedin.com/in/merrickmorris Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Cassie Rayner: http://www.linkedin.com/in/cassierayner , Leeds, UK

Raint Tang: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/rainy-tang/3b/280/12 , China

Rebecca Worley: http://www.linkedin.com/in/rebeccaworley , Co. Durham, UK

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s