‘OJ’ Careers & Jobs (#5 ; 30th March 2012)

Hiya – its the end of Q1 already; where has the time gone, eh? I have given up trying to write this blog weekly every Friday. I hope you’ll accept “almost every Friday” as good enough. Unless of course someone out there wishes to sponsor the blog?? Then, of course, it will get done….

Now two months in, we are well over 2,000 members on our Linkedin Group called “Careers & Jobs (Open) CRE & Facilities Management”. The link is here: http://www.linkedin.com/groups?about=&gid=4269106 . You can read more on the first week’s blog: http://alturl.com/qmsso

Recruiters & Head-hunters

This group is independent, so we hoped that any and all recruitment and head-hunting firms would use the group, and post vacancies to the ‘Jobs’ section. Many of you have, so thankyou for that. Anyone is welcome, and feel free to ‘advertise’ yourselves on the “Discussions” section.

These people posted Jobs discussions this week (I will expand this list over the next few weeks, into a global list of recruiters, and save it on my shared ‘Box’ folder: https://www.box.net/shared/bxrprfdfr7 ). For now, here are this week’s new recruiters (new to us anyway) in the order in which they posted. The full list is at the END.

Gareth Longley, http://www.linkedin.com/in/garethlongley , Manchester, UK

Natasha Luthra, http://www.linkedin.com/pub/natasha-luthra/35/67/a7b , Bengaluru, India

Peter Forshaw, http://www.linkedin.com/in/peterforshaw , UK

Featured Recruiter this week

I have been adding a “top recruiter” in past weeks, on the basis of who posts the most jobs to the Linkedin group. But, as it keeps going to Rebecca Worley, and would AGAIN!, I have had to change tack….sorry Rebecca, but keep ’em coming.

This week I’ll give a special mention to Peter Forshaw , Managing Director of Maxwell Stephens (UK). Peter has been in recruitment in the FM sector for many years now, and is up to about 80 blogs now on his site. Some useful views on FM and recruitment issues.

Top jobs this week

Peter is recruiting for 3 Regional FM roles for CBRE: http://lnkd.in/rCrSHy .

I think this week I’ll pick on Interim roles, as Gareth Longley posted this: http://lnkd.in/Tk6TxX . I know of many people in my network (now well over 6,000 around the world) who have decided to focus on interim roles rather than look for their next salaried position. Gareth has experience in interim roles, so give him a call: 07961 591 406

There have been many others Jobs posted over the last few weeks, around the world. Hopefully we will go wider still in month 3…? India maybe….

India: a booming market….

I was doing some work this week with my friend Sanjay Parmar, a CRE consultant in the UK who has personal and professional knowledge of India. I realised that I had well over 100 end-user contacts in India, from New Delhi up in the north, to Mumbai & Pune on the west coast, down to the “tech” cities of Bangalore, Chennia and Mysore in south India. Watch this space, as we will be keeping our eyes and ears open for opportunities in this wonderful and rapidly growing region.

Top Discussions:

We had some interesting ‘Discussions’ (see the Discussions tab) over the last two weeks. I don’t have time to cover them all, but here is one from a friend of mine, John Garrett in Denver CO: http://lnkd.in/MKpk8J . As John says:

 Recognizing the current volatility within today’s job market, there are tremendous opportunities across multiple functions within CRE / Facilities Management. This article explores this subject and demonstrates that there is, in fact, significant growth potential within these growing markets

 

Working @

I would like to thank Manager’s Choice this week Simon Beck, for his careers article on “A Facilities Manager’s Life in Angola”http://paulcarder.com/2012/03/09/a-facilities-managers-life-in-angola-southern-africa-by-simon-beck/ .

Many of you clearly read the article, judging by the number of comments and emails received. It was an interesting case study in the variety of careers possible in our marketplace.

If you would like to write a similar article, for Working @ your company, drop me a line at the email below. Thanks.

That’s all folks for this week, but subscribe to this blog and receive the update every Friday….

Have a great weekend, and if you are job-hunting, good luck,

Paul Carder (paul.carder@occupiersjournal.com)

Twitter @occupiers and @paulcarder

RECRUITERS (alphabetically)

Simon Aspinall: http://www.linkedin.com/in/simonaspinallcatch22 , Leeds, UK

Melissa Baxter http://www.linkedin.com/pub/melissa-baxter/18/555/b64 London, UK

Meghan Blankenship http://www.linkedin.com/pub/meghan-blankenship/5/9a5/634 Austin, TX, USA

John Bruno: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/john-bruno/16/402/7a6 , LA, CA, United States

Douglas Carrick: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/douglas-carrick/41/886/630 , London, UK

Jo Caughey: http://www.linkedin.com/in/jcaughey , Birmingham, UK

Jaime Cheng: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jaime-cheng/38/568/230 , Hong Kong

Nikki Dallas: http://www.linkedin.com/in/nikkidallas , London, UK

Bob DiSanto, Detroit, US

Kristin Erdmann: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kristinerdmann4hr , Minneapolis, USA

Brittany Finnell: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/brittany-finnell/8/602/643 , Dallas, TX, United States

Ben Gregg: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/ben-gregg-0415919590/6/782/a11 , Sydney, Australia

Simon Knowles: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/simon-knowles/1/bb6/a8 , Exeter, UK

John Kreis: http://www.linkedin.com/in/johnkreiss , Boston, MA, United States

Chris Manning: http://www.linkedin.com/in/cjmanning , London, UK

Claire Marchant http://www.linkedin.com/in/clairemarchant Manchester, UK

Keely Marlin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/keelymarlin , Denver, CO, United States

Rick Morales http://www.linkedin.com/in/rickmoraleshrexpert New York, NY, USA

Merrick Morris http://www.linkedin.com/in/merrickmorris Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Cassie Rayner: http://www.linkedin.com/in/cassierayner , Leeds, UK

Raint Tang: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/rainy-tang/3b/280/12 , China

Rebecca Worley: http://www.linkedin.com/in/rebeccaworley , Co. Durham, UK

Advertisements

One response to “‘OJ’ Careers & Jobs (#5 ; 30th March 2012)

  1. Pingback: ‘OJ’ Careers & Jobs (#6 ; 13th April 2012) | PaulCarder.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s