‘OJ’ Careers & Jobs (#4 ; 2nd March 2012)

Just over a month (being a slightly short one!), we are tantalizingly close to 2,000 members on our new Linkedin Group (formed on 24th January) called “Careers & Jobs (Open) CRE & Facilities Management”. The link is here: http://www.linkedin.com/groups?about=&gid=4269106 . You can read more on the first week’s blog: http://alturl.com/qmsso

Recruiters & Head-hunters

This group is independent, so we hope that any and all recruitment and head-hunting firms will start to use the group, and post vacancies to the ‘Jobs’ section. They (and anyone else) are also welcome to advertise their services on the “Discussions” section.

These people posted Jobs discussions this week (I will expand this list over the next few weeks, into a global list of recruiters, and save it on my shared ‘Box’ folder: https://www.box.net/shared/bxrprfdfr7 ). For now, here are this week’s new recruiters (new to us anyway) in the order in which they posted. The full list is at the END.

Melissa Baxter http://www.linkedin.com/pub/melissa-baxter/18/555/b64 London, UK

Meghan Blankenship http://www.linkedin.com/pub/meghan-blankenship/5/9a5/634 Austin, TX, USA

Rick Morales http://www.linkedin.com/in/rickmoraleshrexpert New York, NY, USA

Merrick Morris http://www.linkedin.com/in/merrickmorris Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Claire Marchant http://www.linkedin.com/in/clairemarchant Manchester, UK

Top Recruiter this week

My “referee’s decision” is, as always, final :-)  This week it goes to Rebecca Worley, AGAIN!, mentioned above, who posted 7 job discussions this week..thanks again Rebecca! A Hat-trick….!

However, special mention must go to Nikki Dallas , owner of Talent FM (based in London, UK), as Nikki has also posted 5 roles in the last week and a bit.  As I have mentioned Maxwell Stephens over the last two blogs, this week I’ll quote Nikki’s website:

The Talent FM “Sourcing Stars” is a team of experienced consultants who really understand all aspects of the facilities management recruitment market.   We are totally committed to raising the standards of facilities management recruitment, both in the UK and internationally.  Our sector knowledge is unrivalled and we are passionate about making every stage of the recruitment process as easy as possible for our clients and candidates.  We have over 30 years recruitment experience between us and we love solving your staffing needs

Top jobs this week

I didn’t blog last week, as I left it too late on Friday! So this is ‘best of 2 weeks’ I guess. But, it is unanimous I’m afraid – the rest of you didnlt have a look in. Claire Marchant got straight in with her first post, for a property & facilities role in the Caribbean: http://lnkd.in/tmz42Y . So far, it has run to about 12 comments (if you discount mine!).

There have been many others Jobs posted over the last three weeks, from China, to several in Europe (Finland, Germany, UK, France) and the USA. Hopefully we will go wider still in month2…? Looking for our first job posting in Brazil…it is also a rapidly emerging market for real estate operations and FM roles.

Top Discussions:

We had some interesting ‘Discussions’ (see the Discussions tab) over the last two weeks. I don’t have time to cover them all, but here are a couple:

Maxwell Stephens have started a new Public Sector dedicated service: http://lnkd.in/mFZR2C

Nathalie Erwin has posted a few useful (I hope) links to interviews and resumes, etc.

Working @

I seem to have cracked the launch of a new series, called “Working @”….and so I very much thank Manager’s Choice this week; Marc Thompson for his careers article on “There no business, like snow business!”: http://lnkd.in/ptJ6wg . Marc describes his role as Facilities Director at the Telluride Ski Resort in Colorado. This time of the year especially, a busy job indeed, but so interesting again to see the breadth of FM roles out in the marketplace. Thanks Marc, great article.

If you would like to write a similar article, for Working @ your company, drop me a line at the email below. Thanks.

That’s all folks for this week, but subscribe to this blog and receive the update every Friday….

Have a great weekend, and if you are job-hunting, good luck,

Paul Carder (paul.carder@occupiersjournal.com)

Twitter @occupiers and @paulcarder

RECRUITERS (alphabetically)

Simon Aspinall: http://www.linkedin.com/in/simonaspinallcatch22 , Leeds, UK

John Bruno: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/john-bruno/16/402/7a6 , LA, CA, United States

Douglas Carrick: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/douglas-carrick/41/886/630 , London, UK

Jo Caughey: http://www.linkedin.com/in/jcaughey , Birmingham, UK

Jaime Cheng: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jaime-cheng/38/568/230 , Hong Kong

Nikki Dallas: http://www.linkedin.com/in/nikkidallas , London, UK

Bob DiSanto, Detroit, US

Kristin Erdmann: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kristinerdmann4hr , Minneapolis, USA

Brittany Finnell: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/brittany-finnell/8/602/643 , Dallas, TX, United States

Ben Gregg: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/ben-gregg-0415919590/6/782/a11 , Sydney, Australia

Simon Knowles: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/simon-knowles/1/bb6/a8 , Exeter, UK

John Kreis: http://www.linkedin.com/in/johnkreiss , Boston, MA, United States

Chris Manning: http://www.linkedin.com/in/cjmanning , London, UK

Keely Marlin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/keelymarlin , Denver, CO, United States

Cassie Rayner: http://www.linkedin.com/in/cassierayner , Leeds, UK

Raint Tang: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/rainy-tang/3b/280/12 , China

Rebecca Worley: http://www.linkedin.com/in/rebeccaworley , Co. Durham, UK

Advertisements

One response to “‘OJ’ Careers & Jobs (#4 ; 2nd March 2012)

  1. Pingback: Looking for an FM Job? Or an experienced FM manager? Have we got the place for you! — The Occupiers' Journal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s