‘OJ’ Careers & Jobs (#3 ; 17th Feb 2012)

We started a new Linkedin Group on 24th January, called “Careers & Jobs (Open) CRE & Facilities Management”. The link is here: http://www.linkedin.com/groups?about=&gid=4269106

The Group has over 1,800 members so far (in 3 weeks!) – read more on the first week’s blog: http://alturl.com/qmsso

Recruiters & Head-hunters

This group is independent, so we hope that any and all recruitment and head-hunting firms will start to use the group, and post vacancies to the ‘Jobs’ section. They (and anyone else) are also welcome to advertise their services on the “Discussions” section.

These people posted Jobs discussions this week (I will expand this list over the next few weeks, into a global list of recruiters, and save it on my shared ‘Box’ folder: https://www.box.net/shared/bxrprfdfr7 ). For now, here is this weeks list, in the order in which they posted:

Raint Tang: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/rainy-tang/3b/280/12 , China

Rebecca Worley: http://www.linkedin.com/in/rebeccaworley , Co. Durham, UK

Bob DiSanto, Detroit, US

Jaime Cheng: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jaime-cheng/38/568/230 , Hong Kong

(Last 2 weeks also included the following, alphabetically)

Simon Aspinall: http://www.linkedin.com/in/simonaspinallcatch22 , Leeds, UK

John Bruno: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/john-bruno/16/402/7a6 , LA, CA, United States

Douglas Carrick: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/douglas-carrick/41/886/630 , London, UK

Jo Caughey: http://www.linkedin.com/in/jcaughey , Birmingham, UK

Nikki Dallas: http://www.linkedin.com/in/nikkidallas , London, UK

Kristin Erdmann: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kristinerdmann4hr , Minneapolis, USA

Brittany Finnell: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/brittany-finnell/8/602/643 , Dallas, TX, United States

Ben Gregg: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/ben-gregg-0415919590/6/782/a11 , Sydney, Australia

Simon Knowles: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/simon-knowles/1/bb6/a8 , Exeter, UK

John Kreis: http://www.linkedin.com/in/johnkreiss , Boston, MA, United States

Chris Manning: http://www.linkedin.com/in/cjmanning , London, UK

Keely Marlin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/keelymarlin , Denver, CO, United States

Cassie Rayner: http://www.linkedin.com/in/cassierayner , Leeds, UK

Top Recruiter this week

My “referee’s decision” is, as always, final :-)  This week it goes to Rebecca Worley, AGAIN!, mentioned above, who posted 5 job discussions this week..thanks again Rebecca!

So I’m giving Rebecca a little ‘plug’ again for helping to get our new Linkedin group off to a good start. If you want to know more about Rebecca’s firm, in London and Co. Durham, see the website here: Maxwell Stephens. To quote their website:

Maxwell Stephens specialises in senior appointments within facilities management, both for permanent positions and for short or long-term contracts. In the current highly competitive global marketplace, we are committed to delivering a comprehensive facilities management recruitment service, stripping away unnecessary complications to offer unparalleled customer support and feedback throughout the process

Top jobs this week

Again, just a personal choice…

Jaime Cheng advertised three senior roles for a “global service provider” based in Hong Kong: http://lnkd.in/m3CMqP . The Asian market is not untouched by our economic woes, but remains more active than the West, in my opinion.

There have been many others Jobs posted over the last three weeks, from China, to several in Europe (Finland, Germany, UK, France) and the USA. Hopefully we will go wider still in week 4….! Looking for our first job posting in Brazil…it is also a rapidly emerging market for real estate operations and FM roles.

Top Discussions:

We had some interesting ‘Discussions’ (see the Discussions tab), starting with Michael Carr from Dallas, TX, asking “how flexible a hiring manager are you?“, and referring to a book called “Brilliant Mistakes: Finding Success on the Far Side of Failure” by Paul J Schoemaker.

Later, we had to have at lest one Valentines related post, by Stephen Viscusi, referring to a NY Post article on office romance (do’s and don’ts…!)

Ali Green, a Facility Manager with Amazon.com, has become a regular! This week she posted a piece about making sure you have a good interview, saying “Be honest because an interview is the time to find out if you are a good fit for the company and if they are a good fit you”….very true.

Working @

I have been trying to launch a new series, called “Working @”….and so I very much thank Manager’s Choice this week; Richard Neuman @OwnersRepNY for his careers article on “A Broadcast Career in Facilities Management”: http://lnkd.in/2SwCSe . He describes the challenges of running a live television broadcast studio facility, analogous to “changing the tires on a moving car”…. Thanks Richard, great article.

If you would like to write a similar article, for Working @ your company, drop me a line at the email below. Thanks.

That’s all folks for this week, but subscribe to this blog and receive the update every Friday….

Have a great weekend, and if you are job-hunting, good luck,

Paul Carder (paul.carder@occupiersjournal.com)

Twitter @occupiers

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s